Clickindia - Neighbourhood Classifieds


Click India  »  Delhi  »  Areas  »  NCR


Delhi's metropolitan area, known as the National capital region (NCR) encompasses the entire NCR as well as the neighboring satellite towns of Faridabad and Gurgaon in Haryana, and NOIDA and Ghaziabad in Uttar Pradesh.

The genesis of the National Capital Region lies in the recommendations of the first Master Plan for Delhi (MPD) notified in 1962 wherein, a broad area consisting of the Union Territory of Delhi and a few ring towns around it was conceived for being developed as a metropolitan region to reduce the population pressure on Delhi.

The territory is not classified as a true Union territory, though the Central Government does have limited control over the functioning of the territory much like other Union territories. Delhi is to eventually become a full fledged state.

NCT (National Capital Territory) was also established with a dream to making areas surrounding Delhi, developed. Most of these areas were earlier small under developed villages and towns which have now turned into world class shopping malls and residential areas. These areas were developed with a view to relocate people coming to Delhi from different parts of the country.

NCT Delhi 1,483 sq km
Haryana 13,413 sq km
Rajasthan 4,493 sq km
Uttar Pradesh 10,853 sq km.
Total 30,242 sq km

Post Free Ad

Delhi - India